Service Area

The Eastern Shore AHEC service area is home to 6 hospitals and 2 federally qualified health centers located in predominantly rural areas serving a total regional population of approximately 450,000 people. All 9 counties are either in whole or in part federally designated Health Professional Shortage Areas (HPSAs) and Medically Underserved Areas (MUAs), specifically in the areas of primary health care, mental health care, and dental health care.